Daily Archives: September 8, 2011

Communicating Nature: Ch. 2 Summary & Reflection

Krissy Nowakowski

Summary:

In chapter two of “Communicating Nature,” Corbett investigates the spectrum of modern-day environmental ideologies, looking closely at how people use their views about the natural world to justify certain actions toward it.  She makes the distinction between anthropocentric and ecocentric views, as they represent the two opposing ends of this ideological spectrum.  On the anthropocentric side, we find ideologies such as instrumentalism, conservationism and preservationism, the later two being trademark ideologies of the American environmental movement, which, according to Corbett, advise only modest adjustments to historical hierarchical relationships with the natural world.  On the ecocentric side, more heterarchical relationships with nature are supported by ethics and value-driven and transformative ideologies.  Though many people can place themselves along this spectrum, much of their words and actions may contradict these proclaimed ideologies.  Sometimes this contraction is unavoidable, however, as many desired lifestyles are limited by the society in which we live.  Corbett ends the chapter noting that contrary to current beliefs, humans do have a place in ecocentric ideologies, but only an equally important space among the larger biotic community that sustains us.

Reflection:

Not until reading this chapter would I have placed preservationism on the anthropogenic side of the ideological spectrum.  I considered myself to be a preservationist, but I never realized how selfish this term really is.  I do believe that nonhuman entities have intrinsic worth, and I do believe that plant and animal communities have a right to live simply because they are members of our biological community, however, I thought those were covered under preservationism.  Clearly, my definition of this term was wrong.  Corbett states that the majority of Americans fall into the anthropocentric side of the spectrum, but I find it hard to believe that Americans can be so selfish.  It sickens me to walk around campus or at local parks and find thousands of cigarette butts on the ground.  Each time I see one, I think to myself – what makes the person who did this think he is worthy enough to step foot near this beautiful place if he is going to trash it? Corbett is right – this is the world that sustains us, so why would we treat it with such disrespect?