Chapter 8

Kerry Harris

WRTG 3020

25 February 2013

Chapter 8: Growing up I never was one to want to watch the news. The reality of all the horrible things that exist in our world was always a scary thought I wished to push away. However, as time went on, news was forced more and more into my life. The chapter discusses all the ‘social reality’ of the news and how it exists today with majority of it being about the nonsense of celebrities, etc. This is such a sad reality considering the condition of our environment. Having a really close family friend as a cop, I was able to realize a couple years back how much goes on in reality that the ‘social reality’ does not depict. All the actual violence, murders, burglaries, etc. that exist and are uncovered in the media really made me question the role of the media, which is further being questioned considering how much about the environment goes unsaid. As the issues of the environment become more and more serious and important, I hope that as a social role the reality will be reported in the media for all to understand.

Leave a comment